Murom is the administrative center of the Murom district, the third largest city in the Vladimir region with a population of 110 070 people (2016). In is located on the left bank of the Oka River, 137 km southeast of Vladimir.


Murom is the oldest city on the Vladimir land. In the "Tale of Bygone Years" the first mention of Murom as a "large settlement on the Oka" refers to 862. This date is considered to be the "year of birth" of the city.

In the middle of the 9th century, the lower Oka was heavily populated by the Mordvinian tribes, among which tribe of the Muroma stood out (hence the name of the future city). Their settlement here was already in the 6th-7th centuries. The Muroma led a sedentary life, traded in hunting and fishing, engaged in primitive crafts, trade. In the 9th century, the Muroma were dependent on the Slavs, who took root here by the end of the 10th century, with the expansion and strengthening of Kievan Rus. Gradually, the Slavs drove the Muroma out of the settlement they founded and turned it into an outpost of their further offensive on the lands of the Mordvinian tribes.

At the beginning of the 11th century, Murom was already one of the significant cities on the outskirts of the Russian state. The Kiev prince Vladimir Svyatoslavich (the Baptist) gave Murom as an inheritance to his son Gleb, and another city of the north-eastern outskirts of his principality, Rostov, to his son Boris. The chronicle did not retain details of Gleb's rule in Murom. But the work of the 16th century "The Tale of the Establishment of Christianity in Murom," which is considered a kind of chronicle of the history of Murom since ancient times, left interesting information about Gleb's attempt to baptize the Murom’s pagans – the Muroma and the Slavs – and his exile. The prince settled two miles from Murom, where he founded the first church in these places in the name of the Savior. At this place the Savior Transfiguration (Spassky) Monastery is situated today.

In 1015 Gleb and his brother Boris of Rostov were insidiously killed by order of their elder brother Svyatopolk the Cursed. So they became the first Russian holy wonderworkers. After the death of Gleb, Murom passes to Yaroslav the Wise, at whom the city became the place of exile of disgraced boyars.

In the middle of the 11th century (about 1054), Murom became the possession of the princes of Chernigov, who since 1076 made it the center of the Murom-Ryazan part of their vast lands. Having risen to the reign of Murom from 1097, Yaroslav- Constantine (the son of Svyatoslav of Chernigov) with threats and persuasion  baptized the city dwellers in the cold waters of the Oka, like Prince Vladimir, who baptized inhabitants of Kiev in the Dnieper.

From the middle of 12th century, Murom princes fell into dependence on stronger Vladimir-Suzdal princes, especially Andrei Bogolyubsky and his heirs. After the Tatar ruinous invasions in 1239, 1281, 1288, Murom was devastated for a long time, and at the end of the 14th century was annexed to the Moscow Principality. Until the middle of the 16th century, there is practically no mention of Murom in annals. Monuments of material culture of the most ancient period were not preserved in the city at all.

But the information about Murom remained in the epic. The city was surrounded by dense forests. According to folk traditions, after the adoption of Christianity in Rus, the supreme Kiev priest of Perun – Bogomil, took refuge in the Murom forests, became the leader of bandits and was known in Russian epic as the  Nightingale the Robber who killed travelers with his menacing whistle. The folk tradition connects with Murom the favorite hero, the mighty warrior, peasant son Ilya, who faithfully served the Kiev prince Vladimir and killed the formidable Nightingale the Robber. True, historians of ancient Russian literature call the real home of Ilya the town of Moroviysk in the Chernigov princedom. He became Ilya Muromets only in the epics, since the 16th century, when the village of Karacharovo is mentioned, which actually exists within the limits of Murom nowadays, and is considered today the birthplace of the epic hero.

Murom legends and written sources of the 16th century, connect the beginning of stone construction in Murom with the name of Ivan IV the Terrible. Murom was the last city on the way of Tsar Ivan Vasilievich to Kazan in 1552. Here, after the inspection, the troops, including the Murom squad, were to cross the Oka and go to Sviyazhsk, where they would connect with troops marching through Ryazan and Meshchera. The tsar served a moleben of the Murom saints with a promise to build several temples in the city in case of victory over Kazan. Really, in the period of 1555-1565, the royal masters built four stone churches in Murom: the Cathedral of the Nativity of the Virgin over the relics of Saints Peter and Fevronia, the Annunciation Cathedral with a chapel over the relics of Constantine and his sons, the Transfiguration Cathedral in the Spassky Monastery and the Church of Kozma and Demyan on the bank of the Oka River.

Since the 17th century, Murom became an important handicraft center. There were skilled craftsmen for dressing of leather, shoemakers, blacksmiths, jewelers, tailors and other craftsmen. Since that time, the glory of the Murom kalaches began.

The manufacture of kalach in Murom arose two centuries earlier, on the basis of contacts between the Muromlians and Tatar bakers. The word "kalach" means appetizing (from Tatar "kalach", that is literally – "be hungry!", which expressed a high degree of appetite). The consolidation of the production of kalaches in Murom spoke of the commercial importance of the city in the Middle Ages. According to legend, they treated Catherine II with kalaches, when she traveled to Murom, and later – treated Pavel I. Imperial persons spoke highly of the taste of Murom kalaches made according to a special recipe. In 2012 in Murom for the first time in Russia was installed the monument of kalach, heated from inside (in the center of the city, next to the market).

In 1778, Murom, as part of the provincial reform of Catherine II, received the status of the county seat of the Vladimir governorship (since 1796 - the province). In 1781, it was given a coat of arms on which the Vladimir Lion was depicted in the upper part, and in the lower part there were three large Murom kalaches that glorified the city and once were well received by the Empress. Since 2004, the historical coat of arms is used as the official symbol of the Murom district.

The architectural appearance of the historical part of Murom was formed in the 19th - early 20th centuries, since large-scale fires in 1792 and 1805 destroyed virtually all old wooden buildings. Anew the city was built up according to the general plan developed by I.M. Lem and approved by the Empress Catherine II as far back as 1788. The original fan arrangement of the streets of the Old Russian city was replaced by a rigid rectangular grid of quarters. With all the schematism of the plan, urban planners still managed to build in it the existing town-forming values ​​– monasteries and churches. These distinct outlines of the streets of the old Murom were largely preserved until the end of the 20th century, making, strangely enough, its peculiarity and difference from other cities of the region. Unfortunately, in the 1980s, some streets in the center of Murom were blocked by multi- entrance houses, which violated the previously formed order.

In 1863, the first in the Vladimir province water pipe was built in Murom with a water tower, 14 wells and several water columns where it was possible to water horses. The high brick tower, combining the functions of a water tower and a fire tower, was decorated at the top with intricate turrets (today it is not preserved) and was topped by a small superstructure with a spire. It produced the impression of not an economic structure, but an architectural monument, functioned until the 1930s, and today it is a showplace of the city. The construction of the tower and the laying of water pipes were carried out at the expense of the city's head A.V. Ermakov (1862-1869), the rich merchant and philanthropist. It is noteworthy that Ermakov’s main condition of  transferring the water pipe to urban use was its full free of charge for the citizens. In addition, the childless couple of Yeramkovs at their own expense opened a children's shelter, a hospital, a library and a theater in Murom. On the wall of the water tower today is a memorial plaque to the honorary citizen of Murom A.V. Ermakov, and in 2012 a monument to him was erected near the tower.

In 1880, a railway was run through Murom – from Moscow to Nizhny Novgorod and Kazan. In 1912 the construction of a large railway artery was completed by the opening of the bridge across the Oka. This bridge is still functioning today. At the same time,  according to the project of architect A.V. Shchusev a railway station was built  in the modern style, with elements stylized under the Moscow Kremlin’s wall.

In the 19th century, industry began to develop in Murom, iron foundries and mechanical plants, flax and spinning mills began to operate. In 1916, railroad repair workshops were built, which in 1928 were renamed to the Murom Switch Plant.

In 1919 the first Murom power station was built in a wooden room in the city garden, serving to illuminate the adjacent streets. Built in 1923-1926, the power station at the factory "Red Spinner" ("Krasny pryadilshchik") supplied electricity not only to the factory, but also to the city. In the years 1926-1930, the city was supplied with electricity from the CHPP of the locomotive repair plant.

In the 1930s, many temples in Murom were closed, ruined and about a dozen churches were destroyed. Among them was the cathedral of the Nativity of the Virgin dominated in the city building, built on the orders of Ivan the Terrible in the middle of the 16th century. Fortunately, many unique icons and values ​​from destroyed and closed churches were preserved in the Murom Historical and Art Museum (opened in 1919).

During the Great Patriotic War, most of the Murom enterprises were transferred to military races. For example, a plywood mill produced air plywood, as well as plywood for gun, rifle and automatic lodges. At the iron foundry and machine building enterprises were made corps of light tanks and self-propelled artillery installations, and even towers for the T-34 tank. They produced shells, mines, detonators, details of rockets for Katyusha. The Murom railway workers at their own expense built the armored train "Ilya Muromets" in 1942, the monument to which (in fact, its model) was installed in 1971 near the park of the 50th anniversary of Soviet power. Murom gave the country 24 Heroes of the Soviet Union. Among them – the famous pilot N.F. Gastello, to whom in 1964 was installed a monument on the station square.

In the second half of the 20th century the industry rapidly developed in Murom, old plants expanded and new ones were built. In the post-Soviet period, Murom, like other cities in the region, experienced economic difficulties, bankruptcy of enterprises, a drop in production. Only by the 2000s the situation got better.


Today Murom is the largest industrial center of the Vladimir region. The leading place in the economy of the city is occupied by machine building: OJSC "Muromteplovoz" (former Locomotive Building Plant named after Dzerzhinsky) produces diesel locomotives and electric locomotives on the orders of Russian Railways, as well as defense products; OJSC "Murom Switch Plant" – the leading enterprise in Russia for the production of switch products for rail transport; ZAO "Oka-cold" (former "Murommashzavod" named after S. Ordzhonikidze) produces famous refrigerators "Oka", already of the third generation; CJSC "MuromEnergoMash" is a modern plant for the production of polyhedral supports for power transmission lines and lighting; LLC "Murom Pipeline Accessories Plant" is also one of the leading manufacturers of this type of products in Russia. The production of radio equipment and instrument making are exclusively significant branches of the Murom industry: OJSC "Murom Radio Plant" develops and manufactures loudspeaker equipment, broadcast and notification equipment (including horn loudspeakers for stadiums, the radio retriever "Retro-Muromets"); OJSC "Murom Plant of Electrical Equipment and Radio Apparatus" produces operational communication and signaling systems for sea and river vessels, nuclear and thermal power stations, subways; OJSC "Murom Devices Building Plant" is one of the main Russian enterprises specializing in the production of pyrotechnic devices for space complexes and defense, rescue and signaling facilities. The woodworking and pulp and paper industry in Murom is represented by CJSC "Murom" (formerly the Murom Plywood Plant), which produces plywood, chipboard, furniture; LLC "NicholPakImperial", which produces roofing cardboard of various types, etc.

Murom as a tourist center

Until 2010, Murom had the status of a historical settlement. Today the city is extremely interesting for tourists, thanks to a large number of historical and  architectural monuments: in the southern part of the city – the Spassky Monastery (founded in the 11th century) with the monumental Spaso-Transfiguration Cathedral (16th century); near the monastery on the bank of the Oka – the church of Kozma and Demian (1565); in the center of the city – the ensemble of the Trinity Monastery in the "patterned style" of the 17th century; next to it – the Annunciation Monastery of the16th century; the buildings of the Resurrection Monastery – the five-domed Resurrection Church (1658) with a covered bypass gallery and a porch, a small one-headed  Vvedensky Church (1659) with a tent bell tower (second half of the 17th century); on the edge of the coastal cliff  –  the  church of St. Nicholas of Naberezhny (1717) with a refectory and bell tower, etc.

The names and activities of many Orthodox saints are intimately connected with Murom: the great martyrs princes Boris and Gleb; princes Constantine, Michael and Fedor, baptized the inhabitants of the city; the Russian hero Ilya Muromets; patrons of marriage and family, princes Peter and Fevronia, in honor of whom since 2008 July 8 in Murom celebrates the Day of Family, Love and Fidelity. Every year, thousands of pilgrims come to worship the relics of these saints preserved in the temples of Murom.

Among the sights of the city – a monument to Ilya Muromets (sculptor V.M. Klykov), established in 1999 in a city park on a viewing platform, on the high bank of the Oka; the first in Russia monument of the Murom Saints Peter and Fevronia (sculptor N. Scherbakov), established on July 8, 2008 near the Murom Registry Office; a new monument to Peter and Fevronia, established in 2012 on the Peasant Square near the walls of  Holy Trinity and Annunciation monasteries; a monument to V.K. Zvorykin, the "father of television", installed in 2013 near the walls of his former home, where today the Murom Historical and Art Museum is located; cable-stayed bridge across the Oka River (length 1400 m, width 15 m), opened in 2012 by President Vladimir V. Putin, which has no analogues in Russia according to the distance between three cable-stayed supports (more than 230 m).

Famous people

Many famous people were born and worked on the land of Murom: academician I.M. Gubkin (1871-1939), the founder of Soviet oil geology; VC. Zvorykin (1889-1982), Russian inventor in the field of television; I.S. Kulikov (1875-1941), Russian artist, an academician of painting, a disciple of I.E. Repin; K.N. Ryabinin (1877-1955), Russian doctor, researcher of Tibetan medicine; A.A. Prokurorov (1964-2008), Soviet and Russian skier, Olympic champion, Honored Master of Sports of the USSR, Honorary citizen of Vladimir and others.

In the 1970s, feature films were shot in Murom – " There is no ford in the fire" and "Beginning" by G.A. Panfilov, "Ascent" by L.E. Shepitko, in 2009 – "A Man from the Boulevard of the Capuchin" by A.I. Surikova and others.

Author: V. Korolkova

Муром

Муром

Муром – административный центр Муромского района, третий по величине город Владимирской области с населением 110 746 человек (2015 г.). Расположен на левом берегу реки Оки, в 137 км к юго-востоку от Владимира.

История

Муром – древнейший город на Владимирской земле. В «Повести временных лет» первое упоминание о Муроме, как о «большом поселении на Оке», относится к 862 г. Эту дату принято считать «годом рождения» города.

В середине IX в. низовья Оки были густо населены мордовскими племенами, среди которых выделялось племя мурома (отсюда и название будущего города). Его поселение здесь было уже в VI-VII вв. Мурома вели оседлый образ жизни, промышляли охотой и рыболовством, занимались примитивными ремеслами, торговлей. В IX в. мурома попадают в зависимость от славян, которые укоренились здесь к концу X в. с расширением и укреплением Киевской Руси. Постепенно славяне вытеснили мурому из основанного ими поселения и превратили его в форпост своего дальнейшего наступления на земли мордовских племен.

В начале XI в. Муром был уже одним из значительных городов на окраине Русского государства. Киевский князь Владимир Святославич (Креститель) отдал Муром в удел своему сыну Глебу, а другой город северо-восточной окраины своего княжества, Ростов, – сыну Борису. Летопись не сохранила подробностей о правлении Глеба в Муроме. Но произведение XVI в. «Повесть о водворении христианства в Муроме», которая считается своеобразным летописным сводом истории Мурома с древнейших времен, оставила интересные сведения о попытке Глеба крестить муромских язычников – мурому и славян, и его изгнании. Князь поселился в двух верстах от Мурома, где основал первую в этих местах церковь во имя Спаса. На этом месте сегодня находится Спасо-Преображенский (Спасский) мужской монастырь.

В 1015 г. Глеб и его брат Борис Ростовский были коварно убиты по приказу их старшего брата Святополка Окаянного, став первыми русскими святыми-чудотворцами. После смерти Глеба Муром переходит Ярославу Мудрому, при котором стал местом ссылки опальных бояр.

В середине XI в. (около 1054 г.) Муром становится владением князей черниговских, которые с 1076 г. делают его центром Муромо-Рязанского удела своих обширных земель. Встав на княжение в Муроме с 1097 г., Ярослав (сын Святослава Черниговского), в крещении Константин, угрозами и уговорами заставил жителей города принять христианство, и крестил их в холодных водах Оки, подобно князю Владимиру, крестившему киевлян в Днепре.

С середины XII в. муромские князья попадают в зависимость от более сильных, владимиро-суздальских князей, особенно Андрея Боголюбского и его наследников. После разорения татарскими набегами в 1239 г., 1281 г., 1288 г.  Муром надолго запустел и в конце XIV в. был присоединен к Московскому княжеству. До середины XVI в. о Муроме практически нет упоминаний в летописях. Совсем не сохранились в городе памятники материальной культуры древнейшего периода.

Зато сведения о Муроме сохранились в былинах. Город был окружен дремучими лесами. По народным преданиям, в муромских лесах укрылся после принятия христианства на Руси верховный киевский жрец Перуна – Богомил, который стал предводителем разбойников и известен в былинах как Соловей-разбойник, убивавший путников своим грозным посвистом. Из Мурома выводит народное предание и любимого героя – могучего богатыря, крестьянского сына Илью, верой и правдой служившего киевскому князю Владимиру и убившего грозного Соловья-разбойника. Правда, историки древнерусской литературы называют настоящей родиной Ильи город Моровийск в Черниговском княжестве. Муромцем он стал лишь в былинах, начиная с XVI в., где упоминается село Карачарово, которое существует фактически в черте Мурома и в наши дни, и считается сегодня местом рождения былинного героя.

Муромские предания и письменные источники XVI в. связывают начало каменного строительства в Муроме с именем Ивана IV Грозного. Муром был последним городом на пути царя Ивана Васильевича в Казань в 1552 г. Здесь после смотра войска, в составе которых была и муромская дружина, должны были переправиться через Оку и идти до Свияжска, где соединиться с войсками, шедшими через Рязань и Мещеру. Царь отслужил молебен муромским святым с обещанием построить в городе несколько храмов в случае победы над Казанью. В период 1555-1565 гг. царские мастера возвели в Муроме четыре каменных храма: собор Рождества Богородицы над мощами святых Петра и Февронии, собор Благовещения с приделом над мощами Константина с сыновьями, собор Преображения в Спасском монастыре и церковь Козьмы и Демьяна на берегу Оки.

С XVII в. Муром становится важным ремесленным центром. Здесь трудятся искусные мастера по выделке кож, сапожники, кузнецы, ювелиры, портные и другие мастера. С того времени началась слава и муромских калачей.

Возникло изготовление калача в Муроме двумя столетиями раньше, на основе контактов муромлян с татарскими хлебопеками. Слово «калач» означает аппетитный (от татарского «калач», то есть буквально – «будь голоден!», что выражало высокую степень аппетита). Закрепление производства калачей в Муроме говорило о торговом значении города в средние века. По преданию, калачами угощали Екатерину II, когда она была проездом в Муроме, а позже – Павла I. Императорские особы очень высоко отзывались о вкусовых качествах муромских калачей, изготовляемых по особому рецепту. В 2012 г. в городе впервые в России был установлен подогреваемый изнутри памятник калачу (в центре, рядом с рынком).

В 1778 г. Муром, в рамках губернской реформы Екатерины II, получает статус уездного города Владимирского наместничества (с 1796 г. – губернии). В 1781 г. ему был дарован герб, на котором в верхней части изображен владимирский лев, а в нижней – три крупитчатых муромских калача, прославивших город и когда-то понравившихся императрице. С 2004 г. исторический герб используется в качестве официальной символики округа Муром.

Архитектурный облик исторической части Мурома сложился в XIX – начале XX вв., так как масштабные пожары 1792 и 1805 годов уничтожили практически все старые деревянные постройки. Заново город застраивался по генеральному плану, разработанному И.М. Лемом и утверждённому императрицей Екатериной II ещё в 1788 г. Самобытное веерное расположение улиц древнерусского города сменилось жесткой прямоугольной сеткой кварталов. При всем схематизме плана, градостроители все же сумели встроить в него сложившиеся градообразующие величины – монастыри и церкви. Эти четкие очертания улиц старого Мурома во многом сохранились до конца XX в., составляя, как ни странно, его особенность и отличие от других городов области. К сожалению, в 1980-е годы некоторые улицы в центре Мурома оказались перегорожены многоподъездными домами, что нарушило сформировавшийся ранее порядок.

В 1863 г. в Муроме был построен первый во Владимирской губернии водопровод с водонапорной башней, 14 колодцами и несколькими водопойными колонками, где можно было поить лошадей. Высокая кирпичная башня, совмещавшая в себе функции водокачки и пожарной каланчи, была украшена по верху затейливыми башенками (сегодня не сохранились) и увенчана небольшой надстройкой со шпилем. Она производила впечатление не хозяйственного сооружения, а архитектурного памятника, функционировала до 1930-х годов, и сегодня является достопримечательностью города. Возведение башни и прокладка труб водопровода производились на собственные средства городского главы (1862-1869 гг.), богатого купца и мецената А.В. Ермакова. Примечательно, что главным условием передачи водопровода в городское пользование Ермаков выдвинул его полную бесплатность для горожан, а также запретил сдавать его в аренду. Кроме того, бездетная чета Ерамковых на свои средства открыла в Муроме детский приют, больницу, библиотеку и театр. На стене водонапорной башни сегодня помещена мемориальная доска, а в 2012 г. недалеко от башни открыт памятник почетному гражданину Мурома А.В. Ермакову.

В 1880 г. через Муром была проведена железная дорога из Москвы на Нижний Новгород и Казань. В 1912 г. строительство крупной железнодорожной артерии было завершено открытием моста через Оку. Этот мост функционирует и поныне. Тогда же, по проекту архитектора А.В. Щусева был построен железнодорожный вокзал в стиле модерн, с элементами, стилизованными под стену Московского Кремля.

В XIX в. в Муроме стала развиваться промышленность, начали действовать чугунолитейный и механический заводы, льнопрядильная и хлопчатобумажная фабрики. В 1916 г. построены железнодорожные ремонтные мастерские, которые в 1928 г. переименованы в Муромский стрелочный завод.

В 1919 г. была построена первая Муромская электростанция в деревянном помещении в городском саду, служащая для освещения прилегающих улиц. Построенная в 1923-1926 гг. электростанция при фабрике «Красный прядильщик» снабжала электричеством не только фабрику, но и город. В 1926-1930 гг. город снабжался электричеством от ТЭЦ паровозоремонтного завода.

В 1930-х годах многие храмы в Муроме были закрыты, подверглись разорению и около десятка церквей были разрушены. В их числе оказался и доминировавший в городской застройке собор Рождества Богородицы, выстроенный по приказу Ивана Грозного в середине XVI в. К счастью, многие уникальные иконы и ценности из разрушенных и закрытых храмов сохранились в Муромском историко-художественном музее (открыт в 1919 г.).

В годы Великой Отечественной войны большинство муромских предприятий были переведены на военные рельсы. Например, фанерный комбинат выпускал авиационную фанеру, а также фанеру для орудийных, винтовочных и автоматных лож. На чугунолитейном и машиностроительном предприятиях делались корпуса легких танков и самоходных артиллерийских установок, и даже башни для танка Т-34. Выпускали снаряды, мины, взрыватели, детали реактивных снарядов для «Катюш». Муромские железнодорожники на свои средства в 1942 г. выстроили бронепоезд «Илья Муромец», памятник которому (фактически, его макет) был установлен в 1971 г. близ парка 50-летия Советской власти. Муром дал стране 24 Героя Советского Союза. Среди них – знаменитый летчик Н.Ф. Гастелло, которому в 1964 г. был установлен памятник на привокзальной площади.

После окончания войны в Муроме начинает бурно развиваться промышленность, расширяются старые и строятся новые заводы и комбинаты. В постсоветское время Муром, как и другие города области, испытывал экономические трудности, банкротство предприятий, падение производства. Только к 2000-м годам ситуация несколько выправилась.

Экономика

Сегодня Муром является крупнейшим промышленным центром Владимирской области. Ведущее место в экономике города занимает машиностроение: ОАО «Муромтепловоз» (бывший Тепловозостроительный завод им. Ф.Э. Дзержинского) производит тепловозы и электровозы по заказам РЖД, а также продукцию оборонного значения; ОАО «Муромский стрелочный завод» – ведущее предприятие России по производству стрелочной продукции для железнодорожного транспорта; ЗАО «Ока-холод» (ранее – «Муроммашзавод» им. С. Орджоникидзе) выпускает знаменитые холодильники «Ока», уже третьего поколения; ЗАО «МуромЭнергоМаш» – современный завод по производству многогранных опор линий электропередач и освещения; ООО «Муромский завод трубопроводной арматуры» – также один из ведущих в России производителей данного вида продукции. Производство радиоаппаратуры и приборостроение – исключительно значимые отрасли муромской промышленности: ОАО «Муромский радиозавод» осуществляет разработку и производство аппаратуры громкоговорящей связи, трансляции и оповещения (в том числе рупорные громкоговорители для стадионов, радиоприемник «Ретро-Муромец»); ОАО «Муромский завод электрооборудования и радиоаппаратуры» выпускает системы оперативной связи и сигнализации для морских и речных судов, атомных и тепловых электростанций, метрополитенов; ОАО «Муромский приборостроительный завод» является одним из основных российских предприятий, специализирующихся в производстве пиротехнических устройств для космических комплексов и обороны, спасательных и сигнальных средств. Деревообрабатывающую и целлюлозно-бумажную промышленность в Муроме представляют ЗАО «Муром» (ранее – Муромский фанерный завод), производящий фанеру, ДСП, мебель; ООО «НикольПакИмпериал», выпускающий кровельный картон разных видов и др.

Муром как туристический центр

До 2010 г. Муром имел статус исторического поселения. Сегодня город исключительно интересен для туристов, благодаря большому количеству историко-архитектурных памятников: в южной части города – Спасский монастырь(основан в XI в.) с монументальным Спасо-Преображенским собором (XVI в.); недалеко от монастыря на берегу Оки – церковь Козьмы и Демьяна (1565 г.); в центре города – ансамбль Троицкого монастыря в «узорочном стиле» XVII в.; рядом с ним – Благовещенский монастырь XVI в.; постройки женского Воскресенского монастыря – пятиглавая Воскресенская церковь (1658 г.) с крытой обходной галереей и шатровым крыльцом, небольшая одноглавая Введенская церковь (1659 г.) с шатровой колокольней (вторая половина XVII в.); на кромке берегового обрыва – церковь Николы Набережного (1717 г.) с трапезной и колокольней и др.

С Муромом неразрывно связаны имена и деятельность многих православных святых: великомучеников князей Бориса и Глеба; князей Константина, Михаила и Федора, крестивших жителей города; русского богатыря Ильи Муромца; покровителей брака и семьи, князей Петра и Февронии, в честь которых с 2008 г. 8 июля в Муроме празднуется День семьи, любви и верности. В Муром приезжают ежегодно тысячи паломников, желающих поклониться сохранившимся в муромских храмах мощам этих святых.

Среди достопримечательностей города – памятник Илье Муромцу (скульптор  В.М. Клыков), установленный в 1999 г. в городском парке на смотровой площадке, на высоком берегу Оки; первый в России памятник муромским святым Петру и Февронии (скульптор Н. Щербаков), установленный 8 июля 2008 г. около муромского ЗАГСа; новый памятник Петру и Февронии, установленный в 2012 г. на площади Крестьянина у стен Свято-Троицкого и Благовещенского монастырей; памятник В.К. Зворыкину, «отцу телевидения», установленный в 2013 г. у стен его бывшего дома, где сегодня расположен Муромский историко-художественный музей; вантовый мост через Оку (длина 1400 м, ширина 15 м), по расстоянию между тремя вантовыми опорами (более 230 м) не имеющий аналогов в России, на его открытии в 2012 г. присутствовал Президент РФ В. Путин.

Известные люди

На Муромской земле родились и работали многие знаменитые люди: академик И.М. Губкин (1871-1939), основатель советской нефтяной геологии; В.К. Зворыкин (1889-1982), русский изобретатель в области телевидения; И.С. Куликов (1875-1941), русский художник, академик живописи, ученик И.Е. Репина; К.Н. Рябинин (1877-1955), русский врач, исследователь тибетской медицины; А.А. Прокуроров (1964-2008), советский и российский лыжник, олимпийский чемпион, заслуженный мастер спорта СССР, почетный гражданин г. Владимира и другие.

В 1970-е годы в Муроме снимались художественные фильмы «В огне брода нет» и «Начало» Г.А. Панфилова, «Восхождение» Л.Е. Шепитько, в 2009 г. – «Человек с бульвара Капуцинок» А.И. Суриковой и др.

Автор: В. Королькова