The city of Kolchugino is the administrative center of the Kolchuginsky district of the Vladimir region with a population of 43,784 people (2016). It is located on the river Peksha (tributary of Klyazma), 74 km to the north-west from Vladimir.


Kolchugino is a relatively young industrial city. It was founded in 1871 as a settlement at the copper smelting plant, owned by A.G. Kolchugin, near the village of Vasilievsky on the Belenkaya River, which flows into Peksha. These forest lands were scarce for agriculture, since so long the main source of livelihood for the inhabitants were various crafts. Already from the 16th century, blacksmith's and copper crafts, mentioned  in the scribes books,  were widespread in local villages. It is not by chance that the modern coat of arms of Kolchugino depicts two wood grouses, which talks about rich forest lands around the city, as well as a folded sheet of copper, on which a hammer and a ladle are laid across, symbolizing copper and brass crafts that gave rise to the city.

On behalf of the founder of copper-brass production, Moscow businessman, merchant of the second guild, A.G. Kolchugin (1839-1899), the workmen’s village at the plant (now  – "Kolchugtsvetmet") was called Kolchuginsky. Since 1876, the " Partnership of Brass and Copper-Rolling Kolchugin’s Plants" began to develop rapidly, and with it –  the workmen’s village. During the decade numerous brick and wooden single and double-storey houses were built for specialists, large barracks-dormitories for workers, a canteen, a bath, a hospital, a school.

In 1896 a section of the Aleksandrov-Kineshma railway opened nearby, which significantly accelerated the development of the plant and village. Since the middle of the 1890's, the largest non-ferrous metals processing plant in Russia was carrying out orders from the Russian Navy Department (producing nickel and copper blanks and sheets, elements for shells, cartridge bullet, and field pots). During the First World War, the Kolchugin’s plants worked entirely for military needs, being the main supplier of cable products (telephone, signal, mine and other cables). In 1918 the plants were nationalized.

In the years 1924-1925, the first capital apartment buildings appeared in the village of Kolchuginsky. Especially rapid development  of the settlement was in the 1930s. In 1931 the village received the status of the city Kolchugino.

In 1937, an airfield was equipped and an aeroclub was opened near Kolchugino, which existed until 1942. In five years, it trained more than 300 civilian and military pilots.

In the 1950's and 1960's, the active development of vacant areas of Vasilievsky village began near Kolchugino. In 1977, a dam was built on the river Pekha and the Kolchugin Reservoir was opened. Since the 1990's, the construction of brick multi-storey buildings began on the territory of the former airfield. In 2001, the town included the village of Belaya Rechka.


The basis of the Kolchugino's economy is the production of non-ferrous metallurgy, which historically developed here. A large plant "Kolchugtsvetmet" named after Sergo Ordzhonikidze (former metallurgical plant of A.G. Kolchugin), until recently, produced about 30% of the total volume of rolled non-ferrous metals in Russia, not only in the form of pipes, profiles and wire, but also the famous cupronickel cupholders with which the railway trains are equipped, appliances, dishes. Kolchugino plant "Electrocable" produces a variety of cables and wires –cables that are used for laying in the Far North, for the needs of the civilian fleet, in engineering, energy, oil and chemical industries. Kolchugin cables are used even in the construction of stadiums for the upcoming football World Cup. In May 2017, reorganization took place in the form of the merger of CJSC "Kolchugtsvetmet" with JSC "Elektrokabel Kolchuginsky Zavod", which is part of the "Cable Alliance holding company" (the Ural Mining and Metallurgical Company). At the same time, the workplaces of the former "Kolchugtsvetmet" and the production of unique cupronickel ware will be preserved, and the production of cable and wire products will expand. At the enterprise "Intercilverline" (silver factory "Argenta") silverware is produced – cutlery, crockery and souvenirs. Jewelery and souvenirs made of gold and silver are produced in the modern high-tech jewelery plant "Adamant".


There are interesting attractions for tourists in Kolchugino: the Church of the Intercession of the Virgin (1792); the tower in the form of a samovar (1922, architect A.P. Vereshchagin), which was built as a water tower, but for some time served as a television tower; one of the first in the USSR monument of V.I. Lenin (1925, sculptor M. Ya. Kharlamov); monument to AG. Kolchugin, the founder of the copper-brass plant and the city (2006, sculptor V.I. Fedorin), etc.

Author: V. Korolkova

Кольчугино

Кольчугино

Город Кольчугино – административный центр Кольчугинского района Владимирской области с населением 44 125 человек (2015 г.). Расположен на реке Пекша (приток Клязьмы), в 74 км к северо-западу от Владимира.

История

Кольчугино – сравнительно молодой промышленный город, который основан  в 1871 г. как поселок при медноплавильном заводе А.Г. Кольчугина около села Васильевского на речке Беленькой, впадающей в Пекшу. Эти лесные земли были скудны для земледелия, поэтому издавна основным источником существования для жителей являлись различные промыслы. Уже с XVI в. в писцовых книгах упоминались распространенные в местных деревнях кузнечное, медницкое ремесла. Не случайно, на современном гербе Кольчугино изображены два токующих глухаря, говорящих о богатых лесных угодьях вокруг города, а также свернутый лист меди, на который положены накрест молот и ковш, символизирующие медно-латунные промыслы, давшие начало городу.

По имени основателя медно-латунного производства, московского предпринимателя, купца второй гильдии, А. Г. Кольчугина (1839-1899), рабочий поселок при заводе (ныне – «Кольчугцветмет») стал называться Кольчугинским. С 1876 г. «Товарищество латунного и меднопрокатного заводов Кольчугина» начало бурно развиваться, а вместе с ним – и рабочий поселок. В течение десятилетия были построены многочисленные кирпичные и деревянные одно- и двухэтажные дома для специалистов, большие казармы-общежития для рабочих, столовая, баня, больница, школа.

В 1896 г. поблизости открылся участок железной дороги Александров – Кинешма, что существенно ускорило развитие завода и поселка. С середины 1890-х гг. крупнейший в России завод по обработке цветных металлов выполнял заказы Военно-морского ведомства России (выпускал никелевые и медные заготовки и листы, элементы для снарядов, капсюли для патронов, походные котелки). В годы Первой мировой войны кольчугинские заводы работали целиком на военные нужды, являясь основным поставщиком кабельных изделий (телефонные, сигнальные, минные и другие кабели). В 1918 г. заводы были национализированы.

В 1924-1925 гг. в поселке Кольчугинском появились первые капитальные многоквартирные дома. Особенно быстрое развитие приходится на 1930-е годы. В 1931 г. поселок получает статус города.

В 1937 г. недалеко от Кольчугино был оборудован аэродром и при нем открыт аэроклуб, который существовал до 1942 г. За пять лет он подготовил более 300 гражданских и военных пилотов.

В 1950-1960-е гг. началась активная застройка свободных площадей Васильевского поселка. В 1977 г. на реке Пекша была построена плотина и открыто Кольчугинское водохранилище. C 1990-х гг. на территории бывшего аэродрома началось возведение кирпичных многоэтажных домов. В 2001 г. в состав города включен поселок Белая Речка.

Экономика

Основу экономики Кольчугино составляют исторически сложившиеся здесь производства цветной металлургии. Крупный завод «Кольчугцветмет» им. Серго Орджоникидзе (бывший металлургический завод А.Г. Кольчугина), до недавнего времени производил около 30% общего объема проката цветных металлов в России, не только в виде труб, профилей и проволоки, но и знаменитые мельхиоровые подстаканники, которыми оснащаются поезда РЖД, столовые приборы, посуду. Кольчугинский завод «Электрокабель» выпускает разнообразную кабельно-проводниковую продукцию – кабели, которые используются для прокладки в условиях Крайнего Севера, для потребностей гражданского флота, в машиностроении, энергетике, нефтедобывающей и химической отраслях. Кольчугинские кабели используются даже при строительстве стадионов к грядущему чемпионату мира по футболу. В мае 2017 г. произошла реорганизация в форме присоединения ЗАО «Кольчугцветмет» к АО «Электрокабель» Кольчугинский завод», который входит в структуру «Холдинга Кабельный альянс» (Уральская горно-металлургическая компания). При этом рабочие места бывшего «Кольчугцветмета» и выпуск уникальной мельхиоровой посуды сохранятся, а производство кабельно-проводниковой продукции расширится. На предприятии «Интерсильверлайн» (фабрика серебра «Аргента») производятся известные в России изделия из серебра – столовые приборы, посуда и сувениры. Украшения и сувениры из золота и серебра выпускаются на современном высокотехнологичном ювелирном заводе «Адамант».

Достопримечательности

В Кольчугино есть интересные для туристов достопримечательности: церковь Покрова Богородицы (1792 г.); башня в форме самовара (1922 г., архитектор А.П. Верещагин), которая строилась как водонапорная, но некоторое время служила в качестве телевизионной; один из первых в СССР памятник В.И. Ленину (1925 г., скульптор М.Я. Харламов); памятник основателю медно-латунного завода и самого города А.Г. Кольчугину  (2006 г., скульптор  В.И. Федорин) и др.

Автор: В. Королькова