Krasnaya Gorbatka

Krasnaya Gorbatka

Krasnaya Gorbatka is an urban-type settlement, the administrative center of the Selivanovskiy district of the Vladimir region, with a population of 8,268 people (2015). Located 130 km south-east of Vladimir on the Kolp River (Oka basin). Selivanovo railway station on the Kovrov-Murom line.


The name and origin of the settlement of Krasnaya Gorbatka (from Russian – "gorb" – "hump") is often explained on the basis of a legend about how Ilya Murometz defeated the Nightingale the  Robber, who plundered traveling merchants and attacked people. There lived a villain on a hump (hill), overgrown with oaks, on one side of which there was a red pine forest, and on the other– the river stretched. The water in the river was so pure and transparent that it seemed white, like a bird spoonbill ("kolpitsa" – in Russian – the river Kolp). Ilya Muromets freed the "glorious hump" from the Nightingale the  Robber, and since then this place is considered happy. At the top of the hump, Ilya put up a chapel, which existed here for a long time, to the founding of a paper mill.  

This beautiful legend even formed the basis for the coat of arms of the Selivanovsky district, adopted in December 2012 (the question of the need for a coat of arms of the settlement of Krasnaya Gorbatka is under discussion). The central figure of the coat of arms is a bird spoonbill, which once nested along the banks of the Kolp River flowing on the territory of the district. The expression "white, like a spoonbill "  in those places was suitable for this river, since the water in it was unusually clean. Extensive forests (they are symbolized by the green color on the coat of arms) and an abundance of clean water determined the construction of a paper mill, around which the settlement of Krasnaya Gorbatka was formed.  

The year of the founding of the village is 1873, when G.I. Sposobin, a native of these places, bought land near the village of Elizavetino, began construction of a paper mill on the left bank of the Kolp River. By the end of 1874 more than a hundred workers from the nearby villages had labored at the factory. The construction  in 1879 of the Kovrov-Murom railway branch, which took place 5 km from the factory, contributed to the development of local production. The paper produced by the Gorbatka’s factory in 1882 received a gold medal at the Nizhny Novgorod fair.

Around the paper mill, a settlement for workers and employees began to be settled, which gradually grew into a fairly large settlement with a developed infrastructure.

After the October Revolution of 1917, the paper mill was nationalized. The first red director of the factory was P.N. Kotkov, and then – a specialist from the city of  Ivanovo-Voznesensk M.P. Resh. The factory was called "Krasnaya Gorbatka" ("Krasnaya" – "Red" in English). In 1919 a fire broke out in the factory, as a result of which the main workshops were damaged. However, the factory was restored by the self-sacrificing labor of the workers, and in the early 1920s paper production was again established.

In 1929 the Selivanovo district was organized, which included 189 settlements. Originally the administrative center of the district was a settlement located at the railway station of Selivanovo, where there were only 37 farms with a population of 185 people. However, the settlement of the factory "Krasnaya Gorbatka" in 1929 was several times larger – 143 farms with a population of 519 people. Therefore, already in 1931 the administrative center of the Selivanovo district was moved to Krasnaya Gorbatka.  

In 1939 the paper mill closed as unprofitable, all premises were sealed, and the equipment was sent to the Karelian-Finnish ASSR. The settlement lost its only industrial enterprise.

However, in September 1941, a mechanical plant No.12 from the town of Borovichi, the Leningrad region (now the Novgorod region), was evacuated to Krasnaya Gorbatka, along with engineering and technical personnel, workers and members of their families (on the whole about five hundred people). The evacuated plant was housed in the old buildings of the paper mill. In a short time, the equipment was installed, and the production of products necessary for the front began: artillery, aviation, anti-aircraft and machine gun sights, and details for hand grenades. Thus, in the tragic days of the Great Patriotic War a new page was opened in the history of the settlement of Krasnaya Gorbatka, which was connected with a mechanical plant (currently OJSC "Selivanovo Machine Building Plant").

 In 1943 Krasnaya Gorbatka received the status of an urban-type settlement. The settlement at the station Selivanovo and the timber mill "Sila Oktyabrya" were subordinated to the Krasnaya Gorbatka village Council .

The urban-type settlement Krasnaya Gorbatka received great development in the post-war period, especially in the 1960s and the 1980s. During this period, all the main administrative buildings, industrial facilities, multi-apartment houses and communications were built.


Today, the town forming enterprise of Krasnaya Gorbatka is the OJSC "Selivanovsky Machine Building Plant" (SMZ), the largest in the region. SMZ produces parts of railway locomotives, tram and other motor wagons, track equipment, etc. It is one of the main suppliers of OJSC "Russian Railways".


There are few attractions in the settlement of Krasnaya Gorbatka:  the SU-9 airplane, installed in memory of the pilot-countryman, Hero of the Soviet Union N.I. Shmelkov; a monument to the revolutionary I.N. Utkin (Stanko). In 2012, the temple was consecrated in the name of Sergius and Nikon of Radonezh.

Author: V. Korolkova

Красная Горбатка

Красная Горбатка

Красная Горбатка – поселок городского типа, административный центр Селивановского района Владимирской области, с населением 8 268 человек (2015 г.). Расположен в 130 км к юго-востоку от Владимира на реке Колпь (бассейн Оки). Железнодорожная станция Селиваново на линии Ковров-Муром.

История

Название и происхождение поселка Красная Горбатка часто объясняют на основе легенды о том, как Илья Муромец победил Соловья-Разбойника, грабившего проезжих купцов и нападавшего на людей. Жил злодей на горбе (холме), поросшем дубами, с одной стороны от которого расположился красный сосновый бор, а с другой – протянулась река. Вода в реке была настолько чиста и прозрачна, что казалась белой, как птица колпица (Колпь). Илья Муромец освободил «славный горб» от нечисти, и с тех пор это место считается счастливым. На вершине горба Илья поставил часовенку, которая просуществовала здесь долгое время, до основания бумажной фабрики.

Эта красивая легенда даже легла в основу герба Селивановского района, принятого в декабре 2012 г. (вопрос о необходимости собственного герба поселка Красная Горбатка находится в процессе обсуждения). Центральная фигура герба – птица колпица, которая когда-то гнездилась по берегам реки Колпь, протекающей на территории района. Бытовавшее в этих местах выражение «Бела, как колпь» подходило для этой реки, так как вода в ней была необыкновенно чистая. Обширные леса (их символизирует зеленый цвет на гербе) и обилие чистой воды определили строительство здесь бумажной фабрики, вокруг которой образовался поселок Красная Горбатка.

Годом основания поселка считается 1873 г., когда Г.И. Способин, уроженец этих мест, купивший земли близ деревни Елизаветино, начал строительство писчебумажной фабрики на левом берегу реки Колпь. Уже к концу 1874 г. на фабрике трудились более ста рабочих, выходцы из близлежащих деревень. Строительство железнодорожной ветки Ковров-Муром, проходившей в 5 км от фабрики, которое завершилось в 1879 г., способствовало развитию местного производства. Выпускаемая Горбатской фабрикой бумага в 1882 г. получила на Нижегородской ярмарке Золотую медаль.

Вокруг бумажной фабрики стал обустраиваться поселок для рабочих и служащих, который постепенно вырос в достаточно крупное поселение с развитой инфраструктурой.

После Октябрьской революции 1917 года писчебумажная фабрика национализируется. Первым красным директором фабрики стал П.Н. Котков, а затем – специалист из  г. Иваново-Вознесенска М.П. Реш. Фабрика получает название «Красная Горбатка». В 1919 г. на фабрике произошел пожар, в результате которого пострадали основные цеха. Однако самоотверженным трудом рабочих фабрика была восстановлена, и в начале 1920-х годов вновь наладился выпуск бумажной продукции.

В 1929 г. был организован Селивановский район, в состав которого вошло 189 населенных пунктов. Первоначально административным центром района был поселок, расположенный при железнодорожной станции Селиваново, где располагалось всего 37 хозяйств с населением в 185 человек. Однако поселок фабрики «Красная Горбатка» в 1929 г. был в несколько раз больше – 143 хозяйства с населением 519 человек. Поэтому уже в 1931 г. административный центр Селивановского района был перенесен в Красную Горбатку.

В 1939 г. бумажная фабрика закрылась, как нерентабельная, все помещения были опечатаны, а оборудование отправлено в Карело-Финскую АССР. Поселок лишился своего единственного промышленного предприятия.

Однако в сентябре 1941 г. в поселок Красная Горбатка был эвакуирован механический завод №12 из г. Боровичи Ленинградской области (ныне – Новгородская область), вместе с инженерно-техническим персоналом, рабочими и членами их семей (всего около пятисот человек). Эвакуированный завод разместился в старых корпусах писчебумажной фабрики. За короткий срок было смонтировано оборудование, и начался выпуск необходимой для фронта продукции: артиллерийских, авиационных, зенитных и пулеметных прицелов, деталей для ручных гранат. Так, в трагические дни Великой Отечественной войны открылась новая страница в истории поселка Красная Горбатка, которая была  связана с механическим заводом (в настоящее время ОАО «Селивановский машиностроительный завод»).

В 1943 г. Красная Горбатка получила статус поселка городского типа. Красногорбатскому поселковому Совету были подчинены поселок при станции Селиваново и лесозавод «Сила Октября».

Большое развитие поселок городского типа Красная Горбатка получил в послевоенное время, особенно в 1960-1980-е годы. В этот период были построены все основные административные здания, объекты промышленного назначения, многоквартирные жилые дома и коммуникации.

Экономика

Сегодня градообразующим предприятием Красной Горбатки является ОАО «Селивановский машиностроительный завод» – крупнейший в районе. СМЗ производит части железнодорожных локомотивов, трамвайных и прочих моторных вагонов, путевое оборудование и др., является одним из основных поставщиков ОАО «РЖД».

Достопримечательности  

Достопримечательностей в поселке Красная Горбатка мало: самолет СУ-9, установленный в память о летчике-земляке, Герое Советского Союза Н.И. Шмелькове; памятник революционеру И.Н.Уткину (Станко). В 2012 г. в поселке был освящен храм во имя Сергия и Никона Радонежских.

Автор: В. Королькова