The town of Kameshkovo is the administrative center of the Kameshkovsky district of the Vladimir region with a population of 12,743 people (2016). It is located 49 km northeast of Vladimir, on the Moscow-Nizhny Novgorod railway.


The area where the town is now located, back in the middle of the 19th century was called the "wasteland of Kameshky", which was part of the Gorkin volost of the Kovrov district. This name definitely pointed to infertile stony (stone – in Russian – "kamen") lands around, which did not bring big profits to their owners. In 1886 the wasteland of Kameshky was bought by Ivanovo-Voznesensk factory owners, the Derbenev brothers for the construction of a weaving factory with Mechanical machines.

In 1892, the first two-storeyed stone building of the factory appeared among the pine forest. This year is considered the date of foundation of the modern city of Kameshkovo. By the way, its modern coat of arms (adopted in 2006) depicts a gold masonry from which pine trees emerge, and silver thread spools beneath, which also symbolizes the history of the town's origin.

Every year new factory buildings were built, production expanded. By 1910, the weaving mill had become a large enterprise, employing more than four thousand people from the nearby villages. Together with the factory, the Derbenev brothers also built a village with barracks for employees and workers, a school for their children, and a hospital. They originally called the village "Avdotino" – in honor of their mother, and they gave their own names to the  first streets – Alexandrovskaya, Vasilievskaya, Efremovskaya, Ivanovskaya, Pavlovskaya. An important event for the inhabitants of the factory village was the opening in 1906 of the temple of the Ascension of the Lord. In 1911, a two-story building of a power station with a turbogenerator was built, which provided electricity to the factory and village.

Avdotino was mentioned for the first time in the lists of inhabited places in the Vladimir province in 1905. But this name of the village seemed dissonant to the workers of the factory. Increasingly, the former name of the wasteland of Kameshky, which was transformed gradually into Kameshkovo, began to be used.

After the October Revolution of 1917 the Derbenev factory was nationalized. It became a Spinning and Weaving factory named after Ya.M. Sverdlov. At the end of 1928, a mention of the working village of Kameshkovo appeared in the list of inhabited areas of the province. Since 1940, the village of Kameshkovo has become the center of the Kameshkovo district.


For many years Kameshkovo remained primarily a town of the textile industry. But in 1969 a branch of the Moscow Experimental Mechanical Plant (later the Kameshkovo Mechanical Plant) was opened in the town, which manufactured units and aggregates for laying pipelines.

Since 2005, the former Kameshkovo Spinning and Weaving factory has joined the holding of Ltd "Children's Clothing" (Kameshkovo branch) and produces some types of yarn, harsh fabrics, waffle cloths, etc. In the past decade, the economy and social sphere of Kameshkovo have faced serious difficulties.

A certain help in creating additional jobs for the town is the "Utex Ru" company, opened in 2009 in Kameshkovo (part of Beaulieu International Group, Belgium), which produces modern floor coverings. Since 2007, the SPA"VOYAGE" has been working in Kameshkovo, engaged in the development, production and installation of interior elements of electric trains. At the end of 2016, the SPA "VOYAGE" launched a serial production of control cab modules for rail and wheeled vehicles, as well as sanitary modules for electric trains.

In 2014 Kameshkovo is included in the list of single-industry towns of the Russian Federation, in the category of municipalities with the most difficult socio-economic situation. Since 2015, the Industrial Park "Kameshkovo" project has been implemented, which involves attracting private investments into the town's industry, creating an industrial infrastructure and new jobs.

Famous people

Many famous people were born or worked in the town of Kameshkovo: one of the founders of Kameshkovo and the weaving factory, the mayor of the city of Ivanovo-Voznesensk P.N. – Derbenev (1852-1920); Heroes of the Soviet Union, participants in the Great Patriotic War – A.A. Lohanov (1913-1974), T.D. Sedenkov (1918-1985); Member of the Union of Artists of the USSR, Honored Artist of Russia, who worked in the technique of graphics (etching) – B.F. Frantsuzov (1940-1993) and others.


About famous countrymen and places of  Kameshkovo and the area tourists can find out from the expositions of the Kameshkovo Museum of History and Local Lore. In the village of Davydovo, in the Kameshkovo district, you can visit the interesting Museum of A.P. Borodin, a great composer and scientist, who for several years rested here and wrote a large part of the opera "Prince Igor".

Kameshkovo land is also known for ancient estates of the 18th-19th centuries, owned by the landowner AG. Bezobrazov (Potakino village) and the princes Gruzinsky (the village of Mikhailovskoye). Unfortunately, these unique places are in a dilapidated state, and huge investments are required to restore them. 

Author: V. Korolkova

Камешково

Камешково

Город Камешково – административный центр Камешковского района Владимирской области с населением 12 722 человек (2015 г.). Расположен в 49 км к северо-востоку от Владимира, на железнодорожной магистрали Москва-Нижний Новгород.

История

Местность, где сейчас находится город, еще в середине XIX в. называлась пустошью Камешки, входившей в Горкинскую волость Ковровского уезда. Это название определенно указывало на малоплодородные земли вокруг, не приносившие больших доходов их владельцам. В 1886 г. пустошь Камешки была куплена иваново-вознесенскими фабрикантами, братьями Дербеневыми под строительство ткацкой фабрики с механическими станками.

В 1892 г. среди соснового бора появился первый двухэтажный каменный корпус фабрики. Именно этот год считается датой основания современного города Камешково. Кстати, на его современном гербе (принят в 2006 г.) изображена золотая каменная кладка, из которой выходят сосны, и серебряные бобины ниток внизу, что в том числе символизирует историю происхождения города. 

С каждым годом строились новые корпуса фабрики, расширялось производство. К 1910 г. ткацкая фабрика стала крупным предприятием, на котором работало более четырех тысяч человек, выходцев из близлежащих деревень.  Вместе с фабрикой братья Дербеневы строили и поселок с казармами для служащих и рабочих, школой для их детей, больницей. Поселок они первоначально назвали «Авдотьино» – в честь своей матери, а первым улицам дали свои имена – Александровская, Васильевская, Ефремовская, Ивановская, Павловская. Важным событием для жителей фабричного поселка стало открытие в 1906 г. храма Вознесения Господня. В 1911 г. было построено двухэтажное здание электростанции с турбогенератором, который обеспечивал электроэнергией фабрику и поселок.

В списках населенных мест Владимирской губернии Авдотьино впервые упоминается в 1905 г. Но рабочим фабрики это имя поселка казалось неблагозвучным. Все чаще стало использоваться прежнее название пустоши Камешки, трансформировавшееся постепенно в Камешково.

После Октябрьской революции 1917 г. фабрика Дербеневых была национализирована. Она стала прядильно-ткацкой фабрикой имени Я.М. Свердлова. В конце 1928 г. в списке населенных мест губернии появилось упоминание рабочего поселка Камешково.

С 1940 г. поселок Камешково становится центром Камешковского района, а в 1951 г. – получает статус города районного подчинения.

Экономика

Долгие годы  Камешково оставался преимущественно городом текстильной промышленности. Но в 1969 г. в городе открылся филиал Московского экспериментально-механического завода (впоследствии – «Камешковский механический завод»), изготовлявшего узлы и агрегаты для прокладки трубопроводов.
С 2005 г. бывшая Камешковская прядильно-ткацкая фабрика вошла в холдинг ООО «Детская одежда» (Камешковский филиал) и выпускает некоторые виды пряжи, суровых тканей, вафельного полотна и пр. В последнее десятилетие экономика и социальная сфера Камешково столкнулись с серьезными трудностями.

Определенным подспорьем в создании дополнительных рабочих мест для города является открытое в 2009 г. в Камешково предприятие «Ютекс Ру» (входит в группу компаний Beaulieu International Group, Бельгия), производящее современные напольные покрытия. С 2007 г. в Камешково работает НПО «ВОЯЖ», занимающийся разработкой, производством и монтажом элементов интерьера электропоездов. В конце 2016 г. НПО «ВОЯЖ» начал серийный выпуск модулей кабин управления для рельсового и колёсного транспорта, а также санитарных модулей для электропоездов.

В 2014 г. Камешково включено в перечень моногородов Российской Федерации, в категорию муниципальных образований с наиболее сложным социально-экономическим положением. С 2015 г. реализуется проект Индустриальный парк «Камешково», предусматривающий привлечение частных инвестиций в промышленность города, создание производственной инфраструктуры и новых рабочих мест.

Известные люди

В городе Камешково родились или работали многие известные люди: один из основателей города Камешково и камешковской ткацкой фабрики, городской глава г. Иваново-Вознесенска – П.Н. Дербенев (1852-1920); Герои Советского Союза, участники Великой Отечественной войны – А.А. Лоханов (1913-1974), Т.Д. Седенков (1918-1985); член Союза  художников СССР, Заслуженный художник России, работавший в технике графики (офорта) -  Б.Ф. Французов (1940-1993) и др.

Достопримечательности

О знаменитых земляках и местах Камешково и района туристы могут узнать из экспозиций Камешковского историко-краеведческого музея. В селе Давыдово Камешковского района можно посетить интересный Музей А.П. Бородина, великого композитора и ученого, который в течение нескольких лет отдыхал здесь и написал значительную часть оперы «Князь Игорь».

Камешковская земля известна и старинными усадьбами XVIII-XIX вв. – помещика А.Г. Безобразова  (д. Потакино) и князей Грузинских (д. Михайловское). К сожалению, эти уникальные усадьбы находятся в полуразрушенном состоянии, и требуются огромные вложения для их восстановления.

Автор: В. Королькова