The town of Melenki is the administrative center of the Melenki district of the Vladimir region with a population of 14,190 people (2016). It is one of the most remote towns from the regional center, located 150 km southeast of Vladimir, in the eastern part of the Meshchera lowland, on the river Unzha.


In its history, the town changed its name three times. Since the end of the 17th century, on the site of the present town was the palace village of Rogozhino,  located on the "veretiy" (Russian) –  a dry, elevated ridge between two neighboring rivers Unzhoy and Melenka. Therefore later it became known as Veretevo. By the beginning of the 18th century, wooden churches of the Intercession of the Virgin and Elijah the Prophet were built in the center of the village.  There were up to thirty houses and a water mill ("melnitsa" – Russian) in Veretevo. Gradually the village began to be called Melenki.

Today they argue about why this name was given to the village. The simplest explanation is the presence of a large number of mills, which, however, is not confirmed by the sources. Rather, on the contrary, the received name – Melenki –  entailed the construction of several windmills in the district. Another version connects the name of the town with the river Melenka – very shallow ("melenkaya" – Russian). There is also such an explanation: the surrounding fields have long been sown with flax, which here yielded good harvests, and the peasants, respectively, were engaged in the initial processing of flax – crushed flax. Here from these words - "crushing flax" ("myat lenky"– Russian), the name of the village – Melenki could have occurred. In any case, it reflects a long-spread occupation on this territory, which later developed into linen production.

In 1778 the village of Melenki received an urban status, together with other county towns of the Vladimir province. In 1881 the new town acquired its coat of arms. Under the Vladimir lion, a windmill was depicted on it nevertheless, with which, apparently, the heraldists  associated the name of the town.

Melenki was a small and rather poor town. But the urban status still contributed to the development of industry and the gradual growth of the population. In the 1860s, the whole association of flax, weaving, carding and whitewash-weaving factories was created in the town, which belonged to the manufacturers E. Brandt, E. Lindes and the merchants Volkov.  Brothers Soldatkin founded iron foundry, and later – copper foundry. At the end of 19th century, Melenki became the center of the county for the processing and marketing of flax.


Today  historically established industries develop in the economy of Melenki and a linen combine, a garment factory, and a foundry-mechanical plant operate. In addition, the location of the city in the forest Meshchera region determined the development of wood processing.

Crafts associated with the presence of a clay deposit have long developed on the Melenki land. In the village of Korovino near Melenki there is a well-known center of art pottery.


As for the sights and architectural monuments of a cult nature, in the Soviet years almost all churches in the city were closed and destroyed. Since the 19th century, only the bell tower of the Church of All Saints survived, which for a long time served as a fire tower.

For nearly twenty years there is a well-known historical and patriotic club "Rusichy" In Melenki, which is engaged in the reconstruction of ancient Russian martial arts and related crafts, for which it received many Russian and even international awards.

Famous people

Many famous people in Russia are connected with Melenki. It is the birthplace of  P.I. Lebedev-Polyansky (1882-1948), a major Russian revolutionary, a Soviet literary critic, an academician, whose monument was erected in Vladimir in front of the building of the philological faculty of the Vladimir Pedagogical Institute near the Golden Gate. Also N.P. Kamanin (1908-1982) was born in Melenki – Soviet pilot, the legendary leader of the expedition to rescue the polar explorers-Chelyuskin, who received the title of Hero of the Soviet Union in No. 2, a major military leader on the fronts of the Great Patriotic War, Colonel-General of Aviation, the organizer of the training of the first Soviet cosmonauts. Here, in Melenki, O.V. Rozanova (1886-1918) was born, one of the largest artists of the Russian avant-garde with a unique coloristic talent, a bright but short destiny.

Author: V. Korolkova

Меленки

Меленки

Город Меленки – районный центр Владимирской области с населением 14 302 человек (2015 г.). Это – один из самых отдаленных от областного центра городов, расположенный в 150 км к юго-востоку от Владимира, в восточной части Мещёрской низменности, на реке Унжа.

История

В своей истории город трижды менял имя. С конца XVII в. на месте нынешнего города было дворцовое село Рогожино, расположенное на «веретии» – сухой возвышенной гряде между двух соседних речушек Унжой и Меленкой.  Поэтому позднее оно стало называться Веретево. К началу XVIII в. в центре села были построены деревянные храмы Покрова Богородицы и Ильи Пророка. В Веретево насчитывалось до тридцати домов и водяная мельница. Постепенно село стало называться Меленки.

Сегодня спорят, почему же такое название дали селу. Самое простое объяснение – наличие большого количества мельниц, что, однако, не подтверждается источниками. Скорее, наоборот, полученное имя – Меленки – повлекло за собой строительство нескольких ветряных мельниц в округе. Другая версия связывает название города с речкой Меленкой – неглубокой, мелкой, меленькой. Есть и такое объяснение: окрестные поля издавна засевались льном, который здесь давал хорошие урожаи, а крестьяне соответственно занимались первоначальной обработкой льна – мяли лен. Вот от этих слов – «мять лен», а точнее «мять ленки», и могло произойти название села – Меленки. Во всяком случае, оно отражает издавна распространенное на этой территории занятие, которое развилось в дальнейшем в льнопрядильное производство.

В 1778 г. село Меленки получило городской статус, вместе с другими уездными городами Владимирского наместничества. В 1881 г. новый город приобрел и свой герб. На нем под владимирским львом все-таки изображалась ветряная мельница, с которой, видимо, у геральдистов и ассоциировалось название города.

Меленки был маленьким и достаточно бедным городком. Но городской статус все же способствовал развитию промышленности и постепенному росту населения. В 1860-е годы в городе было создано целое объединение из льнопрядильной, ткацкой, чесальной и белильно-прядильной фабрик, принадлежавшее фабрикантам Э. Брандту, Э. Линдесу и купцам Волковым. Братья Солдаткины основали чугунолитейный, а впоследствии, – меднолитейный заводы. В конце XIX в. Меленки стали центром уезда по обработке и сбыту льна.

Экономика

Сегодня в экономике города Меленки развиваются исторически сложившиеся отрасли и действуют льняной комбинат, швейная фабрика, литейно-механический завод. Кроме того, расположенность города в лесном мещёрском крае определила развитие здесь производства по переработке древесины.

На меленковской земле издавна развивались ремесла, связанные с наличием месторождения глины. В селе Коровино близ Меленок располагается известный центр художественного гончарного промысла.

Достопримечательности

Что касается достопримечательностей и архитектурных памятников культового характера, то в советские годы практически все церкви в городе были закрыты и разрушены. С XIX в. сохранилась лишь колокольня храма Всех Святых, которая долгое время служила пожарной каланчей.

В Меленках уже почти двадцать лет действует известный историко-патриотический клуб «Русичи», который занимается реконструкцией древнерусского воинского искусства и связанных с ним ремесел, за что получил множество российских и даже международных наград. 

Известные люди

С городом связаны имена многих известных в России людей. Меленки – родина П.И. Лебедева-Полянского (1882-1948), крупного российского революционера, советского литературоведа и критика, академика, памятник которому установлен в г. Владимире перед зданием филологического факультета Владимирского пединститута у Золотых ворот. Также в г. Меленки родился Н.П. Каманин (1908-1982) – советский летчик, легендарный руководитель экспедиции по спасению полярников-челюскинцев, получивший в 1934 г. звание Героя Советского Союза за №2, крупный военачальник на фронтах Великой Отечественной войны, генерал-полковник авиации, организатор подготовки первых советских космонавтов. Здесь же, в Меленках, родилась О.В. Розанова (1886-1918), одна из крупнейших художников русского авангарда с уникальным колористическим талантом, яркой, но короткой судьбой.

Автор: В. Королькова