Church of St. George

Address:
Vladimir, Georgievskaya street, 2a
GPS:
56.12694876, 40.40211278

The Church of St. George is located in that place in Vladimir, where, according to chronicle evidence, was the court of Prince Yury Dolgoruky in the 12th century. In 1129 a wooden Church of St. George the Victorious was built there, and the construction of the white-stone Church of St. George was completed in 1157, probably already by the son of Yury Dolgoruky – Andrey Bogolyubsky. The excavations showed that it was almost square in plan, a one-domed, four-pillared temple, with three massive apses. In strictness of form, the Church of St. George was similar to the Church of SS Boris and Gleb in Kideksha, the suburban residence of Yury Dolgoruky, but sharply different from the elegant white-stone Church of the Savior, which adorned the prince's court of Andrey Bogolyubsky in Vladimir.

There was the Egoryevsky (Grigorievsky) monastery at the Church of St. George in ancient times, which is mentioned in the annals before the 17th century. In 1738 the church of St. George was already listed as a parish one, that is, the monastery was liquidated by that time. On behalf of the Church of St. George, the adjacent street is also named – Georgievskaya.

In 1778, the Church of  St. George was badly damaged during a major city fire, its vaults collapsed. The church was dismantled, and on the foundation of the ancient temple of the 12th century and from its own stone in the years 1783-1784, a new one was erected, that exists until now. It was executed in the style of the provincial baroque. On the square in plan double-light quadrangle of the main volume, two diminishing octagons (light and deaf) rise, and the temple is crowned with an onion head on a low cylindrical drum. The facades of the quadrangle are divided by wide pilaster-strips, between which there are windows in platbands with triangular and semicircular completions, the top of the walls is girded with a profile cornice. Not deep altar apse adjoins to the temple from the east, and from the west – a one-story refectory Church of the Presentation of the Virgin with a tiny cupola, as well as a low octagon of the tented bell-tower.   

For a long time it was believed that the mother (Princess Theodosius) and the 13-year-old brother (Prince Feodor) of the great Vladimir Prince Alexander Nevsky were buried in the Church of   St. George. But this fact is questioned, since during excavations in 1900 the remains of them were not discovered. In addition, it seems strange that they could be buried in the Church of St. George, while according to the canons existing in those times, princely persons were buried either in the Assumption Cathedral in Vladimir or in the Princess Assumption monastery. According to another version, the mother and brother of Alexander Nevsky died in Veliky Novgorod and were buried there in the Cathedral of St. George that is in   the Monastery of St. George. During the excavations of the 1930s, archaeologist M.K. Karger there discovered a sarcophagus with the relics of a 13-15-year-old teenager (presumably Prince Feodor), and they were destroyed during the fascist occupation of Novgorod (August 1941-January 1944).

In the early 1930s the Church of St. George in Vladimir was closed to parishioners and used for economic needs of different institutions. In particular, in the 1960s-1970s in the former iconic building was located the oil-fat factory and smokehouse of sausages, which contributed to the formation of a thick layer of soot on the walls. In the mid-1980s, restoration work was carried out, and in 1986 the Choral Music Center opened under the direction of the People's Artist of Russia, Professor E.M. Markin. In the church building with the necessary acoustics, the boys' choir sounded great. Before 2006, choral concerts were held in the church.

In May 2006, the Church of St. George was returned to the Vladimir diocese. Today, Sunday and festive divine services are held in the church with the participation of the youth choir.

In 2015 the Church of St. George became part of a new pedestrian tourist route along Georgievskaya Street (the so-called "Vladimir Arbat") – with a beautiful pedestrian zone and observation platforms.

Author: V. Korolkova

Георгиевская церковь (Церковь Георгия Победоносца)

Георгиевская церковь находится на том месте во Владимире, где, в соответствии с летописными свидетельствами, в XII в. располагался двор князя Юрия Долгорукого. В 1129 г. здесь был возведен деревянный храм Георгия (Победоносца), а строительство белокаменной церкви Георгия завершилось в 1157 г., уже, вероятно, сыном Юрия Долгорукого – Андреем Боголюбским. Раскопки показали, что это был почти квадратный в плане, одноглавый, четырехстолпный храм, с тремя массивными апсидами. По строгости формы церковь Георгия была схожа с храмом Бориса и Глеба в Кидекше, загородной резиденции Юрия Долгорукого, но резко отличалась от изящной белокаменной церкви Спаса, которая украсила княжеский двор Андрея Боголюбского во Владимире.

При церкви Георгия в древности существовал Егорьевский (Григорьевский) монастырь, который упоминается в летописях до XVII в. В 1738 г. Георгиевская церковь уже значилась как приходская, то есть монастырь был к этому времени ликвидирован. По имени Георгиевской церкви названа и прилегающая к ней улица – Георгиевская.

В 1778 г. Георгиевская церковь сильно пострадала во время большого городского пожара, обрушились ее своды. Церковь была разобрана, и на фундаменте древнего храма XII в. и из его же камня в 1783-1784 гг. было возведено здание, которое существует до сих пор. Оно было выполнено в стиле провинциального барокко. На квадратном в плане двухсветном четверике основного объема возвышаются два убывающих восьмерика (световой и глухой), а венчается храм луковичной главой на невысоком цилиндрическом барабане. Фасады четверика разделены широкими лопатками, между которыми расположены окна в наличниках с треугольными и полукруглыми очельями, верх стен опоясан профильным карнизом. С востока к храму примыкает неглубокая алтарная апсида, с запада – одноэтажная трапезная Введенская церковь с крохотной главкой, а также невысокий восьмерик шатровой колокольни.

Долгое время считалось, что в Георгиевской церкви похоронены мать (княгиня Феодосия) и 13-летний брат (князь Федор) великого Владимирского князя Александра Невского. Но этот факт подвергается сомнению, так как при раскопках 1900 г. их останки не были обнаружены. Кроме того, странным кажется их погребение в церкви Георгия, в то время, как по существовавшим тогда канонам, княжеских особ хоронили во Владимире либо в кафедральном Успенском соборе, либо в Успенском соборе Княгинина монастыря. По другой версии, мать и брат Александра Невского скончались в Великом Новгороде и там же были похоронены – в Георгиевском соборе Юрьева монастыря. Во время раскопок 1930-х годов археологом М.К. Каргером там был вскрыт саркофаг с мощами 13–15-летнего подростка (предположительно, князя Федора), которые были уничтожены во время фашистской оккупации Новгорода (август 1941 – январь 1944 гг.).

В начале 1930-х годов Георгиевская церковь была закрыта для прихожан и использовалась под хозяйственные нужды разных учреждений. В частности, в 1960-е – 1970-е годы в бывшем культовом здании располагался цех масло-жирового заводика и коптильни колбас, что способствовало образованию толстого слоя копоти на стенах. В середине 1980-х годов были проведены реставрационные работы, и в 1986 г. в храме открылся Центр хоровой музыки под руководством народного артиста России, профессора Э.М. Маркина. В церковном здании с необходимой акустикой прекрасно звучал хор мальчиков. Вплоть до 2006 г. в храме проводились хоровые концерты.

В мае 2006 г. Георгиевская церковь была возвращена Владимирской епархии. Сегодня в храме проводятся воскресные  и праздничные богослужения с участием молодежного хора.

В 2015 г. Георгиевская церковь стала частью нового пешеходного туристического маршрута по Георгиевской улице (так называемый «Владимирский Арбат») – с прекрасной пешеходной зоной и смотровыми площадками, откуда открывается великолепный вид на старый Владимир, белокаменные соборы XII в., заклязьменские дали.

Автор: В. Королькова