Monastery of St. John the Merciful

Address:
Vyazniki district, Mstera settlement, Leningrad Street, 16
GPS:
56.37608069, 41.93820259

The nunnery of St. John the Merciful is located on the central square of Mstera, literally across the wall from the male Epiphany Monastery, and was founded almost simultaneously with it.

The wooden church of John the Merciful was first mentioned in the scribe books of 1628-1630. By the middle of the 17th century, a woman's monastery was established at the church, perhaps as a house monastery of the princesses Romodanovsky, some of whom are mentioned in the documents as nuns. As is known, Epiphany (Bogoyavlenskaya) Sloboda (since the 19th century – Mstera) was the patrimony of the noble family of Romodanovsky. It is believed, that it was in the women's monastery, that the Mstera embroidery – white satin-stitch was born, which became one of Mstera's famous traditional art crafts.

By the decree of Catherine II, in 1764 the monasteries in Mstera were abolished, and the church of St. John the Merciful became parochial. At the end of the 18th century, the ensemble of the former convent consisted of the wooden church of St. John the Merciful with two aisles, a tented bell-tower with the main entrance, a stone fence, and a small chapel.

In 1809, the wooden church of St. John the Merciful was dismantled and a single-headed stone church was built in its place. In the 1860s, at the expense of the industrialist O.O. Senkov, a native of Mstera, the temple was equipped: cast-iron floor was laid in it, the walls were painted by an artel of masters from Palekh, and the bell-tower was rebuilt. Thanks to this honorary donator, valuable icons and church utensils were bought into the church.

In 1929 the church of John the Merciful was sealed, crosses and bells were removed, expensive utensils were nationalized. In the early 1930s, the temple was adapted to the club: the frescoes were painted over, the stage was built. The belfry and the fence were dismantled, and the chapel was turned into a shop, selling kerosene. In the late 1950s, the chapel was dismantled.

Bricks from dismantling of former monastic buildings were used for new construction: from the north side of the building – the foyer of the club, and from the west side – cinema-cabin and ticket window. After such rearrangements in the style of the so-called "Stalin’s empire" the church lost its original appearance, it became absolutely unlike the cult structure.

In 2005, the activity of the convent of St. John the Merciful was resumed. The restoration of the temple began: the main dome and a cross were erected on it, the altar was returned, the old stokehold was dismantled from the eastern side of the building and an outbuilding – from the south.

Today, the monastery has a social rehabilitation center "The Salvation Cup" for former drug addicts and alcoholics, as well as people who find themselves in a difficult life situation.

Author: V. Korolkova

Монастырь Святителя Иоанна Милостивого

Женский монастырь Святителя Иоанна Милостивого расположен на центральной площади поселка Мстёра, буквально через стену от мужского Богоявленского монастыря, и был основан практически одновременно с ним.

В писцовых книгах 1628-1630 гг. впервые упоминается деревянная церковь Иоанна Милостивого. К середине XVII в. при ней был создан женский монастырь, возможно, как домовой монастырь княгинь Ромодановских, некоторые из которых в документах упоминаются как монахини. Как известно, Богоявленская слобода (с XIX в. – Мстёра) была вотчиной дворянского рода Ромодановских. Считается, что именно в женском монастыре зародилась мстёрская вышивка гладью, которая стала одним из прославивших Мстёру традиционных художественных промыслов.

По указу Екатерины II,  в 1764 г. монастыри в Мстёре были упразднены, и церковь Святителя Иоанна Милостивого стала приходской.
В конце XVIII в. ансамбль бывшего женского монастыря состоял из деревянной церкви Иоанна Милостивого с двумя приделами, шатровой колокольни с главным входом, каменной ограды, и небольшой часовни.

В 1809 г. деревянная церковь Иоанна Милостивого была разобрана и на ее месте построен одноглавый каменный храм. В 1860-е годы на средства вязниковского промышленника, уроженца Мстёры О.О. Сенькова в храме был положен чугунный пол, расписаны стены бригадой мастеров из Палеха, а также перестроена колокольня. Благодаря этому почетному жертвователю, в храм приобретались ценные иконы и церковная утварь.

В 1929 г. церковь Иоанна Милостивого была опечатана, кресты и колокола сняты, дорогая утварь национализирована. В начале 1930-х годов храм был приспособлен под клуб: стенная роспись закрашена, построена сцена. Колокольня и ограда были разобраны, а часовня превращена в лавку по продаже керосина. В конце 1950-х годов разобрали и часовню.

Кирпич от разборки бывших монастырских сооружений использовался для нового строительства: с северной стороны здания – фойе клуба, а с западной стороны – кинобудки и касс. После таких перестроек в стиле так называемого «сталинского ампира» церковь потеряла свой первозданный вид, стала абсолютно непохожей на  культовое сооружение.  

В 2005 г. возобновлена деятельность женского монастыря Святителя Иоанна Милостивого. Началось восстановление храма: установлен главный купол и крест на нем, возвращен  алтарь, разобрана старая кочегарка с восточной  стороны здания и пристройка – с южной.

Сегодня при обители действует социальный реабилитационный центр «Чаша Спасения» для бывших наркоманов и алкоголиков, а также людей, оказавшихся в тяжелой жизненной ситуации.

Посещение женского монастыря Святителя Иоанна Милостивого входит в тур "Мстёра рукотворная".